Crash Diet: the Pros and Cons

Crash Diet: the Pros and Cons

I recently tried a new experiment for losing weight. I started off by researching various dietary methods and narrowed it down to a few different approaches. I carefully considered the benefits and drawbacks to each way and I finally made my decision.

fruit_and_vegetablesI went with a “crash diet” approach to weight loss written/designed by a guy named Brian Flatt: http://musclereview.net/3-week-diet-review/.  I’ll share with you some of my experiences with this and the pros and cons based on what happened with me. I’ll start with the pros of a crash diet:

Pros:

  1. Being absolutely focused on one single fitness goal. Before I tried this I’d always say I wanted to lose fat and gain muscle at the same time. But what happened is I often didn’t too much of either. I discovered that by focusing everything I did on one goal that I’d get a lot more accomplished. I did indeed drop weight/fat more quickly than I thought possible.
  1. Keeping things strict and knowing there was no room for cheating. When you follow a “crash diet” approach you can’t go down that treacherous pass of just having “one cookie” or “one potato chip”–a path that usually turns into consuming a lot of calories and blowing your diet. Keeping such a strict diet actually helped me to stay on track.
  1. Fast results. Say what you want, but all of us would like to lose weight more quickly if it is possible to do it safely. And I found that seeing the numbers go down quickly and regularly really helped me to stay motivated.

Cons:

  1. The strict diet and my social life. It was really hard for me to go out with friends while on a crash diet. There just wasn’t any “room” for it, so my social life did suffer just a little. I usually compensated by meeting friends for coffee (and I had a low-calorie or no-calorie coffee).
  1. The temptation to overcompensate once the diet was over. I did kind of want to go crazy once the 3-4 weeks were finished and I could go back to a more “normal” way of eating. I tried to overcome this by slowly introducing new foods to my eating plan.
  1. Lower energy. My energy levels weren’t great, though they did improve as I got further into the weight loss process.

These are just a few pros and cons based on my experience. Everyone is different and you may find that a much different approach is better suited for you. Don’t be afraid to experiment and find a way to reach your own fitness goals, whatever they are. And don’t forget to check with your doctor before starting a new diet or exercise plan.

